The Power of Beauty

by

I’m transporting us back to the fall of 2005, when I was in Mexico.

I was a young 20 year old in the middle of a three month stint of studying Spanish in Cuernavaca, Mexico. It was our week break, and three girls and I were taking in the sights of Oaxaca City, Mexico, which is approximately 8 hours south of Mexico City. Then, all of a sudden, the three girls traveling with me decided to head back to Cuernavaca early, leaving me alone.

A wave of loneliness overtook me. I started to think of what I was doing in life, and had no idea what my purpose was. It could have been characterized as a sudden, deep depression. This all took place the day after my group left. I wanted to go back to Cuernavaca, but I needed to see the nearby Monte Alban pyramids. I bought my entrance ticket to the pyramids and got on the bus to go there. As soon as I arrived, the depression immediately lifted. The view was one of the most beautiful I had ever seen, and remains so to this day.
I could see rolling hills in all directions. It served as a perfect backdrop to the magnificent pyramids. As soon as I left the pyramids, the depression returned until I got settled back in Cuernavaca. The point is: no matter what befalls a person, beauty can overcome it.

2 Responses to “The Power of Beauty”

  1. madds423 Says:

    Damn Bryan! This post was beautiful! If you ever have the chance go to Switzerland. I think you will be impressed with the scenary. Now that I only have 2 weeks left I’m starting to realize that I probably took it for granted 😦

  2. B-Ryan Says:

    Thanks. I will, one day, go to Switzerland. Sorry it takes so long to respond to comments; the blog doesn't tell me when people comment for some reason.

Leave a Reply

